Media‎ > ‎Media Releases‎ > ‎


posted 10 Jan 2012, 16:54 by Unknown user
Sutherland Urges McLeod To Lift PTSC Injunction
On July 9th the installation of executive officers of the Transport and Industrial Workers' Union (TIWU) took place at TIWU Headquarters in Laventille.TIWU conducted nominations for executive officers on 27th May 2010. Those nominated were unopposed. The new term runs from 2010 to 2014.
The installation exercise was conducted by former TIWU president, Comrade Clive Nunez. The feature address was given by legal adviser Clyde Weatherhead. Proceedings were chaired by National Education Officer of the National Workers' Union (NWU) Comrade Gerry Kangalee. Comrade Roland Sutherland delivered a powerful presidential address in which he called on the Mnister of Labour to lift the injunction against PublicTransport Service Corporation workers taking protest action.
The Executive is made up as follows: Roland Sutherland (President), Lois Pollidore (First Vice President), Anand Bachchan (Second Vice President), Judy Charles (General Secretary), Elicia Douglas Cruickshank (Assistant General Secretary), Sheldon Phillips (General Officer), Jennifer Jack Barras (General Officer), Nolan Swift (Trustee), Clarence Duke (Trustee), Atibah Babb (Trustee).
It is significant that six of the ten-member executive are first timers. It certainly seems that TIWU is well prepared to meet the challenges of the future.